The News Courier in Athens, Alabama

December 29, 2012

Tanner's Rich among finalists for ASWA lineman of the year

Associated Press

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) — Two past finalists and a previous winner are among the 42 high school football players from around the state named as finalists for back or lineman of the year.

The Alabama Sports Writers Association announced the finalists Friday. The ASWA selects three finalists for each of the awards in the six classifications in the Alabama High School Athletic Association plus teams in the Alabama Independent Schools Association.

Fultondale quarterback ArDarius Stewart is the lone returning winner. He was Class 2A Back of the Year in 2011. Two other finalists from the 2011 season return as Lineman of the Year nominees in their respective classes — McIntosh linebacker Damien Davenport in Class 1A and Dadeville defensive lineman Rod Crayton in Class 4A.

Winners in each class and Mr. Football will be announced Jan. 16 at the ASWA's annual Player of the Year banquet in Montgomery. The event is sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.

Finalists for the Alabama Sports Writers Associations' backs and linemen of the year. The winners will be named on Jan. 16 at the player of the year banquet:



Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, Sr., QB, 6-6, 219

Racean Thomas, Oxford, Jr., RB, 6-0, 200

Marquez White, Northview, Sr., DB, 6-1, 173


Reuben Foster, Auburn, Sr., LB, 6-2, 235

Austin Golson, Prattville, Sr., OL, 6-5, 285

Grant Hill, Huntsville, Sr., OL, 6-6, 290



Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort, Sr., DB, 6-0, 185

Tyler Jackson, Muscle Shoals, Sr., RB, 5-10, 150

Joel Poe, Spanish Fort, Sr., QB, 6-1, 200


Zach Cunningham, Pinson Valley, Sr., LB, 6-4, 200

Jordan Sims, Homewood, Jr., OL, 6-4, 330

Tre Williams, St. Paul's, Jr., LB, 6-2, 220



Jordan Chunn, Madison County, Sr., RB, 6-0, 210.

Toby Pee, Sardis, Sr., RB, 5-11, 180

Alvin Scott, Oneonta, Sr., WR, 6-3, 190


Blake Bean, Oneonta, Jr., DL, 6-3, 240

Ronnie Clark, Calera, Jr., Ath., 6-3, 210

Rod Crayton, Dadeville, Sr., DL, 6-0, 280



Courtney Foy, Midfield, Sr., Ath., 5-11, 175

Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy, So., RB, 6-1, 195

JaTevin Madison, Fayette County, Jr., WR, 5-10, 150


Torrandine Harris, Midfield, Sr., DL, 6-1, 240

Jamarious Henderson, Dale County, So., LB, 6-0, 210

Jamie Major, Piedmont, Sr., LB, 6-2, 225



Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian, Jr., RB, 5-11, 185

ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, Sr., QB, 6-1, 195

Tywone Stewart, Reeltown, Sr., RB, 5-8, 170


DeMarcus Holcombe, Washington County, Jr., LB, 6-1, 213

Jestavia Norris, Reeltown, Sr., DL, 6-1, 210

Fred Rich, Tanner, Sr., LB, 6-2, 200



Rodney Camp, Phillips, Sr., QB, 6-2, 175

George Payne, St. Luke's, Sr., RB, 5-11, 195

Ready Swanigan, Marion County, Jr., Ath., 5-10, 170


Damien Davenport, McIntosh, Sr., LB, 6-2, 262

Taylor Driggers, Brantley, Sr., OL, 6-2, 255

Justin Lucas, Notasulga, Sr., LB, 5-9, 170



Dylan Ingram, Edgewood Academy, Sr., QB, 6-4, 200

Jarrette Pope, Clarke Prep, Jr., RB, 6-2, 215

Jaevon Walton, Tuscaloosa Academy, Jr., RB, 6-0, 225


Terrell Bush, Tuscaloosa Academy, Jr., OL, 6-3, 305

O.J. Howard, Autauga Academy, Sr., TE, 6-6, 230

Cortney Wilbanks, Restoration Academy, Jr., LB, 6-0, 225