The News Courier in Athens, Alabama

Election 2012

Election 2012
  • Greg Tucker.jpg Democrat Tucker defeats GOP challenger Coffman

    Greg Tucker was re-elected to his fifth term as license commissioner in Tuesday’s general election as Limestone County voters went to the polls to decide the local races for District 4 commissioner and license commissioner.

    November 6, 2012 1 Photo

  • curnuttWEB.jpg Curnutt wins by landslide

    Brad Curnutt cruised to an easy victory in Tuesday’s election, winning his first term as Limestone County Circuit Court clerk.

    November 6, 2012 2 Photos

  • Limestone election officials report few issues at the polls

    Despite lengthy lines throughout the day at the 32 voting sites, election officials encountered few issues as Limestone County voters went to the polls Tuesday.

    November 6, 2012

  • Election 2012 bug.tif Election 2012: 12:18 a.m. update

    Electoral votes (270 to win)

    (D) Barack Obama: 290 votes
    (R) Mitt Romney: 203 votes

    President Obama has won re-election

    In Alabama:
    28 of 67 counties reporting

    (D) Barack Obama: 520,474 (39.12 percent)

    (R) Mitt Romney: 798,216 (59.99 percent)

    U.S. Congress, Fifth Congressional District 
    Results incomplete                                                   

    (D) Charlie Holley: 67,954 votes (35.18 percent)                                                                        

    (R) Mo Brooks: 125,182 votes (64.82 percent)

    Alabama Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
    28 of 67 counties reporting

    (D) Bob Vance: 638,347 votes (48.98 percent)
    (R) Roy Moore: 664,998 votes (51.02 percent)

    Alabama PSC President
    28 of 67 counties reporting

    (D) Lucy Baxley: 583,411 votes (45.63 percent)
    (R) Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh: 695,094 votes (54.37)

    Limestone County Circuit Court Clerk
    (D) Kris Allen: 9,282 votes
    (R) Brad Curnutt: 24,958 votes (Winner)

    Limestone County License Commissioner
    (D) Greg Tucker: 20,374 votes (Winner)
    (R) Ronnie Coffman: 14,426 votes

    Limestone County Commission District 4
    (D) Bill Daws: 3,644 votes
    (R) Ben Harrison: 3,820 votes (Winner)

    November 6, 2012 1 Photo

  • Election 2012 bug.tif Brooks, Holley tout qualifications ahead of Tuesday's election

    November 4, 2012 3 Photos

  • Harrison ahead of Daws in contributions race

    November 4, 2012

  • Curnutt outpaces Allen in fundraising

    November 4, 2012

  • Tucker leads Coffman in financial support

    November 4, 2012

  • Ronnie Coffman.jpg Election 2012: Q&A with license commissioner candidate Ronnie Coffman

    Editor’s note: As part of The News Courier’s coverage of the Nov. 6 General Election, today’s edition features a Q&A with license commissioner incumbent Greg Tucker (D) and challenger Ronnie Coffman (R). Wednesday’s edition will feature submitted articles from candidates for Limestone County circuit court clerk, followed next Sunday by a Q&A with the candidates.

    October 30, 2012 1 Photo

  • Brad Curnutt.jpg Election 2012: Q&A with county circuit court clerk candidate Brad Curnutt

    Editor’s note: As part of The News Courier’s coverage of the Nov. 6 general election, today’s edition features a Q&A with circuit court clerk candidate Brad Curnutt (R). Candidate Kris Allen (D) had not submitted answers to provided questions by Friday’s deadline. A political debate-style forum featuring local candidates will be held at 6 p.m. Tuesday at Athens State University’s Sandridge Student Center. Doors open at 5:30 p.m.

    October 28, 2012 1 Photo


What is your favorite Easter candy?

Chocolate bunnies
Marshmallow chicks
Chocolate eggs with filling
     View Results
AP Video
Twitter Updates
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Business Marquee