The News Courier in Athens, Alabama

July 2, 2008

Limestone County School Board meeting synopsis 6-30

Limestone County school board members raised the pay of six principals and approved several other personnel items during a meeting Monday.

They voted 6-1 to renew the three-year contracts and raise pay for the following principals:

• Harold Johns, Cedar Hill Elementary School – up 2 percent to $74,321.

• Joan Austin, Johnson Elementary School -– up 2 percent to $77,289.

• Mickey Glass, Elkmont High School – up 3 percent to $90,158.

• Stan Davis, Limestone County Career Technical Center – up 3 percent to $93,167.

• Billy Owens, Tanner High School – up 3 percent to $93,713.

• Don Wilson, Clements High School – up 2 percent to $98,547.

Voting for the renewals and raises were Board President Earl Glaze and board members Charles Shoulders, John Wayne King, James Shannon, Anthony Hilliard and Darin Russell. Board member Bryant Moss opposed the raises, noting that the school system had more pressing needs in light of possible state revenue shortages.

In other personnel matters, board members took the following action:

• Held a 21/2-hour closed session to discuss a school custodian but took not action in the matter.

• Agreed to hire Charles Landtroop as science teacher at Ardmore High School; Vickie Harbin as special education teacher at Cedar Hill; Kristian Hogan as elementary teacher at Cedar Hill; Casey Cotton as elementary teacher at Clements; Christie Scholl as CNP worker and assistant at Clements; Teresa Wade as mathematics teacher at Clements; Karl Carter as elementary teacher at Creekside Elementary School; Carol Zander as CNP worker and assistant at Creekside; John Zirbel as social science teacher at East Limestone High School; Jillian Ferguson as family and consumer science teacher at Elkmont High; Charles Hughes as general science teacher at Elkmont High; Joyce Hicks as special education inclusion assistant at Owens Elementary School; Lindsey McBay as elementary teacher at Reid Elementary School; Johnny Bachus as assistant principal and athletic director at West Limestone High School; Benjamin Campbell as mathematics teacher at West Limestone; Charles Moody as social science teacher at West Limestone; Sarah Meals as bus utility worker at the bus garage; and Tara Bachus as gifted education referral and BBSST coordinator at the Central Office.

• Approved transfers for: Jessica Colbert from Tech Center bus driver to Ardmore driver, Jennifer Hargrove from Ardmore driver to Tech Center driver, Brenda Pollock to special education teacher at Ardmore, Amy Caraballo from special education teacher at Elkmont to Cedar Hill, Morgan Cornelison from bus assistant at Cedar Hill to special education inclusion assistant at Cedar Hill. Alicia Dean from teacher at Elkmont to Cedar Hill, Angie Terry from part-time to full-time CNP worker at Cedar Hill. Karen Carter from math teacher to math and English teacher at Clements, Karen Black to special education inclusion assistant at Creekside, Alicia Kimbrough from special education inclusion assistant at Clements to Creekside, Paula Wales to CNP worker and assistant manager at Creekside, Renee Norton from CNP worker and assistant at Clements to East Limestone. Sonya Berzett from elementary teacher at West Limestone to physical education teacher at Reid and BEST Academy, Charlotte Griggs from special education instructional assistant at the Tech Center to a collaborative teacher at Tanner, Neil Rice from bus driver at Creekside and East Limestone to Tech Center driver for Tanner, Tobie Craig from teacher at Piney Chapel to West Limestone, Kelley Lewter from reading coach at Tanner to assistant principal at West Limestone.

• Approved leaves of absence for Ardmore teacher Amanda Hobbs for 12 weeks beginning Sept. 10 and for Tanner teacher Christy White from Aug. 18 through Sept. 26.

• Approved resignations for East Limestone math teacher and boys basketball coach Dewayne Uselton, Owens guidance counselor Susan Wales and West Limestone math teacher Ginger Malone.

• Hired as temporary help for the summer reading program: Allison Usery, Mary Kelly, Holley Kelley, Matt Taylor and Faye Sledge.

• Put Tammy Holland under contract as reading recovery and reading intervention teacher.