The News Courier in Athens, Alabama

November 12, 2010

Athens State University College of Education honoring alumni


— Athens State University College of Education kicked-off its first annual National Alumni Conference on the Athens campus Wednesday. The Conference featured guest speakers Dr. Jane G. Knight and Cathy Coleman Bennett.

Knight, an Alabama native, has served nationally as a professional development director, and through the Alabama school systems as a principal, a resource teacher, and a classroom teacher.

Bennett has taught mathematics for over 27 years, 25 of which have been with the Geneva, Alabama school system. She was named 2010-2011 Alternate State Teacher of the Year at the 2010 Alabama Stars in Education Awards.

Concurrent sessions of bright ideas from the classroom were given by Danielle Paseur, Evie Whitaker, Jackie Hardaway Hester, Cathy Bennett, Renee Quaife, Phillip Jarmon II, Karl J. Fernandez, Jonathan Ratliff, John Kennedy, Beth Clemmons, and Kerry Donaldson.

“We especially appreciate the ideas and teaching strategies that our alumni bring back to share with us,” stated Dean Debra Baird. “The Athens Teacher Program (ATP) is proud of each of its graduates and all that we are doing to impact educational policy.”

The Conference also acknowledged charter members of the Athens Teacher Society Hall of Fame. Inductees for this inaugural year include Tracey S. Bailey, Kelley Blackwood, Elizabeth H. Brett, Kerry L. Donaldson, Jr., Tim Gels, Jackie Hardaway Hester, Phillip Jarmon II, Guy McClure Sr., Beth McKinney, Anita Raby, and Andre Reynolds.

The newly inducted members of the Hall of Fame were given a medal and plaque by Athens State President Bob Glenn. They also signed a Hall of Fame roster that will be displayed in McCain Hall upon the completion of its remodeling.

“We have been producing more teachers than any other institution in Alabama for many, many years,” stated Glenn. “It is with great pride and considerable pride that we welcome them back for events such as this.”

Conference organizers were Athens State College of Education Professors Dr. Wanda Hutchinson and Dr. Darlene Turner-White.