The News Courier in Athens, Alabama

May 4, 2013

Delta Mu Delta honors society inducts new members

For The News Courier

— Athens State University’s Alpha Iota Chapter of Delta Mu Delta inducted 72 new and honorary members during a May 26 ceremony.

Faculty advisers for the nationally chartered academic society are professors Kim Bell and Kim Roberts.  

“We are extremely proud of these students who rank among the top 20 percent of their junior and senior classes,” said professor Kim Robert. “We know they will continue to accomplish great things for the University, their workplace, and the community.”

This year, Delta Mu Delta handed-out awards in the following categories:

• Excellence in Teaching Award: Dr. Thomas Pieplow;

• Medallion Award: Alex Coronado;

• Outstanding Service Award: Crystal Payne. 

Scholarship awards included: 

• The Robert L. and Mildred S. McCall Scholarship: Christopher Nelson;

• The William C. Sharples Scholarship: Aurora Quiroz. 

Honorary members inducted included Jim Kerner and Kim Roberts.

As a special part of the program, a Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to College of Business retiring dean Linda Shonesy.

“Dr. Shonesy has served the Alpha Iota chapter of Delta Mu Delta over the course of her entire career at Athens State,” Bell said. “She has helped to mold and shape this chapter into what it is today and has tirelessly promoted the College of Business and the students within to be the best that they can possibly be.”