The News Courier in Athens, Alabama

April 15, 2013

ASU’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter honored

From staff reports

— The Athens State University Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Alumni Association recently received the “Most Outstanding University-Based Alumni Association Award” at the International Phi Theta Kappa Convention in San Jose, Calif.

Each year at this convention, one alumni association is recognized in both regional and university-based associations, with one also receiving the alumni Award of Merit.

This is the second time in the last three years the Athens State chapter has received the award. In 2011, the chapter also received the Alumni Award of Merit.

“It was undoubtedly the exceptional level of business planning and student engagement that resulted in this terrific accomplishment by the Athens State Phi Theta Kappa Alumni officers and members,” said Dr. Kim LaFevor, chapter advisor. “As the primary mission of Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students, the aim is to provide robust opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.” 

To receive the Outstanding Association classification, the top chapter must demonstrate exceptional contributions to Phi Theta Kappa at an international, regional, university and community level with specific focus on service, fellowship, leadership and scholarship of all competing entries.

This past year, the Athens State chapter selected 10 primary objectives, 33 associated initiatives and conducted 11 fundraisers to support the implementation of these strategic society projects, which resulted in the winning entry.

“Using these ideals as our central aim, the work done by our Phi Theta Kappa Alumni Association has proven to be successful on all counts,” LaFevor said.

Athens State University Phi Theta Kappa officer team include Hannah Kilpatrick, president; Ruby Sayki-Addo, vice president of membership, Lillie Parker, vice president of fellowship and service; and Joanne Pearson, vice president of leadership.