Although school is out for the summer, officials at Athens City Schools are preparing for the coming school year by hiring, transferring and assigning various personnel. School board members approved various personnel matters during their June board meeting this week. Superintendent Dr. Trey Holladay made the following recommendations, which were unanimously approved by the seven-member board:


Diana Blackwood, science teacher at Athens Middle School; Anna Harrell, elementary teacher at SPARK Academy at Cowart Elementary School; Meredith Lorge, elementary teacher at FAME Academy at Brookhill Elementary School; Joshua Marsh, physical education teacher at Athens Intermediate School; Jessica Ortiz, elementary teacher at SPARK Academy; Lars Stanford, temporary lawn maintenance; and Anna Wysock, elementary teacher at HEART Academy at Julian Newman Elementary School.


Katrina Allen, from assistant principal at FAME Academy (.5) to special education supervisor; Travis Barnes, from science teacher at AMS to science teacher at Athens High School; Alyson Carpenter, from professional development specialist to technology coordinator; Eddie Murphree, from in-school suspension at AMS to ISS at AHS; Diane Trout, from elementary teacher at SPARK to STEM lab teacher at iAcademy; Josh Fuqua, from teacher at Athens Renaissance School to teacher at AMS; Linda Moore, from completion specialist at ARS to completion specialist at AHS; Deverly Williams, from systemwide aide at ARS to completion specialist at AHS; Amanda Gudmundsson, from teacher at AMS to teacher at ARS; Steve Carter, from technology teacher at ARS to technology teacher at AHS; and Debbie Elmore, from administrator at SAFE/CARE to assistant principal at AHS.

Assignments for 2019-2020

Jeremy Crum, physical education teacher at AIS; Samantha Crum, Child Nutrition Program at AMS; Joaquin Herrera, technology instructor at AMS; Casey Little, teacher at AMS; and Jason Quick, assistant principal at FAME Academy (.5).


Chris Coffey, AMS; Jill Daniel, SPARK Academy; Erin McLemore, AHS; Maria Sanders-Ingram, AHS; and Benjamin Phillips, AIS.


Sabrina Frost, AIS.


Jim Presnell, dean of students at AHS, at the end of the 2019-2020 school year.


Rick Carter, principal employment contract at AHS and executive director of Innovation Programs; and Beth Patton, addendum – terms of service.

Other business

In other action during Tuesday's meeting, board members approved a five-year lease for 780 13-inch Apple MacBook Air laptop computers. Total cost is $584,819.04, which includes $545,220 in principal and $39,599.04 in interest. Each computer will cost $699 without interest.


Reporter for News Courier since 2006.